Festival starts in

Les Acadiens de la Dispersion

Cinema on the Bayou will present the World Premiere of LES ACADIENS DE LA DISPERSION with English subtitles in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the film by Acadian filmmaker Léonard Forest on Saturday, February 24, 2018, at the Vermilionville Performance Center.  General admission is Free.  The doors open at 6:30 p.m. and the film screens at 7:00 p.m.  Food and drinks will be available for purchase from Vermilionville.  

A Pre-Screening Dinner will be held at Vermilionville's La Cuisine de Maman beginning at 5:30 p.m., and is available for a donation to Cinema on the Bayou Film Society of $75 per person. This event includes dinner, drinks (wine or beer), dessert and VIP seating at the film screening.  A Pre-Screening Backstage Social will be held behind the stage at the Vermilionville Performance Center and is available for a donation of $25 per person.  This social includes heavy hors d'oeuvres in the backstage room from 6:00-7:00 p.m., and two complimentary drinks from the bar.  Advance tickets for the two pre-screening events are required and are available at Eventbrite.

LES ACADIENS DE LA DISPERSION premiered in August of 1968 in Moncton, New Brunswick at the Paramount Theater and then screened later that fall in Lafayette, Louisiana.  Filmmaker Léonard Forest filmed on location in 1966 and 1967 in France, Louisiana and the French Canadian provinces.  He utilized knowledgeable historians of each region as well as subjects of Acadian ancestry to tell the story of the Acadians from the earliest days of colonization.  The film was a production of the National Film Board of Canada, and though it has been widely available since its release, it has only been available in French.  

In marking the 50th Anniversary of the original release of the film, Cinema on the Bayou has joined forces with Alan and Brenda Broussard and family and friends to add English subtitles to the film in order to make it available to a wider audience.  This project was undertaken with the assistance of the National Film Board of Canada and under the guidance of Mr. Forest and his daughter Violaine Forest.


Dirty Rice Filming Sepia

Twenty years ago, on December 4, 1997,  "Dirty Rice" had its World Premiere in Lafayette at the United Artist Theatre on Kaliste Saloom before an audience of over 1200 people. This debut narrative feature film by acclaimed Cajun filmmaker Pat Mire was released on United Artist screens throughout Louisiana. To this day, "Dirty Rice" holds the record for the longest-running film to play in a Lafayatte movie theatre -- it was booked for a two-week engagement and was held over for five months.

On December 4, 2017, Cinema on the Bayou, in conjunction with Acadiana Center for the Arts, presents "Dirty Rice" at a Red Carpet community celebration of the 20th anniversary of its World Premiere along with Mire and those who starred in, worked on and supported the film. The film screening, which begins at 7:30 pm, will be followed by a  gala reception with hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar.  Doors open at 6:30 pm.

An official selection at the 42nd London Film Festival, "Dirty Rice" captures the raw essence of the rural Cajun community in South Louisiana in a tale of a man rediscovering his roots and reclaiming his heritage. As renowned movie critic Neil Norman of the London Evening Standard put it, “While The Big Easy, No Mercy and most recently, Eve’s Bayou, have flirted with the Cajun world, this is the real deal, 100% proof.”

This 20th anniversary screening is a fundraiser for Cinema on the Bayou Film Society, a Section 501(c)(3) non-profit which presents the 13th Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival on January 24-31, 2018.  Tickets are $15.00 and can be purchased at Acadiana Center for the Arts, 101 W. Vermilion St., Lafayette, LA, at Acadianacenterforthearts.org, or by calling 337-233-7060.  

Film Synopsis (85 min.): Returning from the city of New Orleans, where he works as an architect, to his parents’ farm following the death of his father, Louis Daigle (Benjamin Mouton) is drawn back into thelife of farming and a relationship with an old flame (Myriam Cyr). But times are hard and the falling value of rice is threatening the farmers’ livelihood. Featuring the beautifully shot Cajun prairie landscape and a sound track driven by the haunting music of this unique culture, the film tells the story of a man who, like the people from whom he is descended, manages to survive with passion and grace.

Experience Louisiana Dirty Rice Poster copy Fotor


Page 1 of 5

premiere v4
contributing 2019 2
international 2019 3